It’s raining here in the Pacific Northwest, it’s raining a lot. I think this is the not-so subtle hint that fall is on its way.  The point is that this kind of weather puts me in the mood for cozying up with a book, and I am a bit of a book hoarder. As in I don’t need to have read most of the books on my shelves to justify going out and buying a new stack! That being said, I find myself looking at my shelves and wondering, ” Who bought that?” Well enough is enough and I intend to intimately know ALL of these hidden treasures immediately.

Essex County

To start, I will dive into the Essex County compendium by Jeff Lemire. I already voraciously follow his Sweet Tooth comic – and you should too. It is a post-apocalyptic world of plague and animal children rendered in Lemire’s haunting graphic style. A young boy with the features of a deer who falls in with a loner whose motives in the new world are suspect; you will promptly fall in love with the main character who’s nickname provides the series’ title. Read it, preferably binge-style because you won’t want to be left hanging at the end of each issue.

Under science fiction novels I am currently reading Vernor Vinge’s A Fire Upon the Deep. You know where I found is the best place to discover authors I haven’t read before, including Vinge? In registration lines for sci-fi and comic conventions. Those things can be long and a little conversation really passes the time.  Finally, I will be finishing a collection of apocalypse and post-apocalypse short stories titled Wastelands. I’ve been working on this one for awhile, picking up a story here and there. It’s high time to finish and give the end-of-the-world-as-we-know-it genre a deep talking about.

Hugo award-winning, sometimes described as "space opera"

Hugo award-winning, sometimes described as “space opera”

Look for reviews of all these titles coming soon and the introduction of my new cosplay series, tentatively titled “Will I Get It Done in Time for Comic Con?”

